breaking news New

Simi makes cut, Lokosa and three others dropped


The Technical Adviser of the Super Eagles Gernot Rohr has dropped Junior Lokosa, Dele Ajiboye, Stephen Eze and Uche Agbo from the 30-man World Cup provisional list.

The team who were hosted by President Muhammadu Buhari earlier today have departed for London for a friendly game against the Three Lions of England on Saturday.


In a thread on The NFF official Twitter handle, it was also confirmed that Gent forward Moses Simon who had been reported to have been ruled out would still be on the standby list.

He will travel with the team to London for a scan to ascertain the level of his injury.

The omission of Nigeria Professional League highest goal scorer Junior Lokosa, who impressed on his debut game against Congo DR, and Plateau United goalkeeper Dele Ajiboye from the list means Ikechukwu Ezenwa will be the only home based player on the list.


Full list of players that made the cut: Daniel Akpeyi, Ikechukwu Ezenwa, Francis Uzoho, Abdullahi Shehu, Elderson Echiejile, Leon Balogun, William Ekong, Chidozie Awaziem, Ola Aina, Tyronne Ebuehi, Bryan Idowu, Wilfred Ndidi, Mikel Obi, Ogenyi Onazi, Oghenekaro Etebo, Mikel Agu, Joel Obi, John Ogu, Odion Ighalo, Simeon Nwankwo, Kelechi Iheanacho, Alex Iwobi, Ahmed Musa.


The 2013 African Champions have been drawn in Group D of the World Cup and will lock horns with Croatia, Iceland and Argentina.




Leave a Comment


Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password